Cathy Dubuisson is a professional photographer who captures light to accentuate her subjects. 

Posing? No! Spotlights and studio? Absolutely not! Her signature - natural light!

“There is no light without shadow,” said Louis Aragon, the French poet. A great quote that describes the French artist to a tee as she’s a past master when it comes to catching the tiniest natural glow that emanates from this shadow…

Her first Reflex when she was twelve. A passion for cars that’s possibly hereditary, or the result of knowhow and transmission, or maybe just a fan’s knowhow passed on to his daughter: Thank you, Dad!

In her hands, the car becomes a fashion model. Cathy uses her skills to make the most of her model’s silhouette and bring out its beauty.

She’s always on the go and loves movement. She plays with light. Maybe this is where her passion for cars and her taste of natural photography meet. In this notion from the speed of light to the speed of the passage of time, everything hinges on a fraction of a second for a successful race or a successful photo. But there’s nothing stereotyped about her work as she uses her discerning eye to seize the moment she sees and retains what many ignore.

When some are blinded by light, her reaction is the opposite and she captures it through her lens and, without altering reality, transforms it into magic. For a split second she immortalizes what seems mundane and turns it into poetry in an image, which creates emotions that spawn an imaginary story. Looking at one of her photographs, it’s easy to let oneself be sucked in by its light.  We’re transported into dreamland, to a contrast in which we feel movement, action, speed. Or on the other hand, frozen in time, we learn about the environment, about the detail that has escaped us, which transforms our vision. For example, the front of a beautiful historic car becomes a shark’s nose, or raindrops turn into a river of diamonds. She does not adapt light, but exploits what shade and light have to offer us in their natural state.

I would like to thank Amandine Romano Pierard for the text.

Cathy Dubuisson, une photographe professionnelle qui capte et met en lumière.

Poser ? Non ! Lampes et studio ? Certainement pas ! Sa signature : « La lumière naturelle ».

« Il n'y a pas de lumière sans ombre » disait Louis Aragon. Très belle citation prenant tout son sens avec notre artiste, elle qui sait si bien capter la moindre lueur naturelle qui émane de cette ombre.

Un « Reflex » dès ses 12 ans. Une passion automobile, peut-être bien héréditaire ou juste le savoir dire et faire d’un passionné. Merci papa.

Entre ses mains, le sujet quel qu'il soit devient mannequin. Notre photographe, par sa finesse, tire avantage des lignes de son modèle et la met ainsi en valeur. Respect de ce qu'elle voit, entend, ressent.

Toujours sur le départ, Cathy aime le mouvement. La lumière, elle en joue. C’est peut-être, aussi, de là que nous pouvons corréler sa passion de l’automobile et de la photographie naturelle. Dans cette notion de vitesse de la lumière à la vitesse du temps qui passe, tout se joue en une fraction de seconde pour réussir sa course, pour réussir son cliché. Cliché ? Justement, notre artiste n’a rien d’un cliché : elle est spontanée, souriante, authentique, naturelle, à l'écoute. De son œil averti, elle voit et sait prendre ce que beaucoup balaient du regard.

Quand les uns sont aveuglés par la lumière, elle, à l’inverse, la retient via son objectif et, sans modifier la réalité, la rend magique. Elle capture juste un instant de ce qui paraît banal et le « poétise » en une image. Cela crée l’émotion laissant place à une histoire imaginaire. Lorsque l’on observe une de ses photographies on se laisse facilement aspirer par sa lumière. La rêverie nous emporte. Nous nous installons dans une dualité, et l’on sent le mouvement, l’action, la vitesse. Ou, à l’inverse, figé dans le temps, nous prenons connaissance de l’espace, du détail qui nous avait échappé permettant d’arborer une autre vision. Par exemple, l’avant d’une belle ancienne devient le nez d’un requin, ou encore des gouttes de pluie se transforment en une rivière de diamants. Elle n’adapte pas la lueur, elle exploite ce que l’ombre et la lumière ont à nous offrir dans leur naturel.

Remerciements à Amandine Romano Pierard pour le texte